Berkeley County Democratic Executive Committee

About Us

Members of the Berkeley County Democratic Executive Committee (BCDEC) are elected by voters registered as Democrats in Berkeley County, West Virginia.  They serve four year terms.  The election of members takes place in the statewide primary election in non-presidential years, the most recent being in May 2018, the next in 2022. Members take office on July 1 following the primary election.  One man and one woman are elected from each of Berkeley County's six magisterial districts.

The primary role of the Committee is to encourage county residents to register to vote and support Democratic candidates seeking election in West Virginia. The Committee joins with other Democratic organizations in the county, region, state, and nation to promote the Democratic platform, ideals, and slate of candidates, but as a state political action committee, it may only provide financial aid to candidates for offices within the state.

We also have a role in filling ballot vacancies for county elected officials, depending upon the circumstances or timing of the vacancy. When no one files as a candidate for an open office or someone who has filed is disqualified, the BCDEC has the authority to name a candidate to fill the vacancy.

When there are vacancies in elected offices, the BCDEC does not have authority to name persons to fill the vacancies, but it is charged with making recommendations to the appointing body, whether that is the County Council or the Circuit Court.

The BCDEC is also responsible for nomination of election officials, poll clerks, election commissioners, and alternates for election day.



      ChairAneesh Sompalli

Adam StephenKen Collinson
Adam StephenVirginia Sine
NorborneAneesh Sompalli

Judy Malone

PotomacFrank Stilwell
PotomacTammy Offutt
ShenandoahGary Collis
ShenandoahLynneia Atkinson
TuscaroraDaniel Bennett


ValleyBrad Noll

​Deborah Scheinberg